Island BioBlitz is a public participation event, so everyone is invited to visit one of the islands and participate. Running in conjunction with the Island BioBlitz event is a Island Wildlife Festival with events for all ages to enjoy and participate. If you want to assist with the species recording for Island BioBlitz, either contact the organisers listed for each island, or just turn up at Base Camp on the date to register.

Already each island has assembled teams of skilled ecologists to help with recording on the day. Expertise on recording of the more difficult taxonomic groups is still needed on some of the teams, so please get in contact if you can help.


Cape Clear –    Colette O’Flynn   [email protected]

Bere Island –    Tomás Murray     [email protected]

Inis Mór –         Amanda Browne  [email protected]

Clare Island –   Liam Lysaght       [email protected]

Tory Island –    Úna FitzPatrick     [email protected]

The teams

Cape Clear

Oileán Chléire

Colette O’Flynn (Data Centre staff) Base camp
Geoff Oliver (Local organiser) Birds & plants
Eamonn O’Donnell Birds & moths
Padraig Whooley Cetacean & seawatch
Paddy Sleeman Mammals
Killian Kelly Bryophytes & birds
Michael O’Donnell Moths
Janet Whelehan Butterflies & moths
Denise O’Meara Mammals
Andrew Harrington Mammals
Paul Connaughton Seabirds & cetaceans
Anne Marie Mahon Marine species
Paul Green Flora
Howard Fox Lichens & fungi (Cryptogams)
Maria Cullen Lichens & fungi
Anna Collins Bats
Calvin Jones Birds & cetaceans
Simona Paolacci Plants
Edel Sheerin Mammals
David O’Neill General
Sandra Murphy Birds & general
Steve Wing Birds
Trish Punch Team photographer
Jim Fitzharris Birds & plants
Jervis Good Invertebrates
Vanessa Mack Bats
John Mack Bats
Rosalyn Thompson Plants

Bere Island

Oiléan Béarra

Tomás Murray (Data Centre staff) Bees & butterflies
John Walsh Local organiser
Helen Riddell Local organiser
Clare Heardman Plants
Angus Tyner Moths
Geoff Hunt Birds & invertebrates
Tony Nagle Birds
Evelyn Moorken Molluscs
Ian Killeen Molluscs
Kieran Finch Insects
Fionnuala O’Neill Plants
Isobell Abbott Plants, invertebrates & bats
Rory Hodd Bryophytes
Tim Butter Marine species
Niall Tierney Birds
Mary Kelly-Quinn Freshwater invertebrates
Finbarr Wallace Plants
Caroline Sullivan Plants
Damaris Lysaght Plants & butterflies
John O’Sullivan Plants
Gesche Kindermann Plants
Peter Wolstenholme Butterflies
Ulla Harris Invertebrates
Gill Weyman Plants & invertebrates
Fionn Moore Plants & butterflies
Mary O’Mahony General
James Sheehan General
Joyce Novak Marine, freshwater invertebrates
Kate-Marie O’Connor General
Kate Bismilla General
Carol Melody Soil invertebrates
Niamh Sullivan Soil invertebrates
Sariann Lemon Soil invertebrates
Cathal Kavanagh Soil invertebrates
Aideen Kane Marine species

Inis Mór

Amanda Browne (Aran Life) Plants
Erin Jo Tiedeken (Data Centre staff) Bees
Mags Flaherty Base Camp
Patrick McGurn (Aran Life) Plants, butterflies & moths
Louise Duignan (Aran Life) Plants
Brian Nelson Invertebrates
Cillian Roden Charaphytes & plants
Edwina Cole Plants
Neil Browne Invertebrates
Ronan Fitzpatrick Plants, bees & butterflies
Michael O’Connell Seaweeds & invertebrates
Louise Scally Marine
Liz Sides Marine
Kieran Connolly Fungi
Penny Bartlet Birds & moths
Brendan O’Connor Marine
Dave McGrath Marine
Eddie McCormack Marine
Anna Maria Csergo Plants
Yvonne Buckley Plants
Tony O’Callaghan Marine
Chris Peppiatt Bats & plants
Stephen Meany Birds
Ruth Hannify Small mammals & bats
Kate McAney Small mammals & bats
Tom Doyle Marine
Maurice Eakin Bryophytes
Andy Bleasdale Plants
Ferdia Marnell Mammals, amphibians & reptiles
Barry O’Donoghue Birds
Rebecca Jeffrey Mammals
Yvonne Leahy Marine
Caitriona Douglas Plants
Dermot Breen Birds
Janice Fuller Plants
Bernadette White Freshwater
Conor Mulholland Marine

Clare Island

Oileán Chliara

Liam Lysaght (Data Centre staff) Birds & butterflies
Ian Patrick McCabe Local organiser
Ciara Cullen Local organiser & plants
George Smith Bryophytes
Paul Whelan Lichens
Heather Lally Plants
Harm Deenen Bats
Pamela Boyle Plants & invertebrates
Eamonn Delaney Plants & birds
Seán Lysaght Birds
Darren Ellis Birds
Ken Bond Moths
Siobhan Atkinson Freshwater invertebrates
Hannah Keogh Marine & invertebrates
John Breen Marine & invertebrates
Colin Heaslip Birds & general
Malachy Mangan Plants
James Moran Plants
Tony O’Callaghan Marine
Rory O’Callaghan Marine
Donal Synnott Plants
Robert Wilkes Inter-tidal
Tim Ryle Plants
Dave McKay Moths

Tory Island

Oileán Thoraí

Úna FitzPatrick (Data Centre staff) Bees & hoverflies
Máire Clár Nic Mhathúna Local organiser
Niall Keogh Birds & cetaceans
Therese Higgins Plants
Chris Barron Mammals
Oisín Duffy Plants & bees
Mairéad Crawford Plants
Rónán McLaughlin Birds
Owen Clarke General
Liz Sheppard Plants & moths
Ralph Sheppard Plants & moths
Lindsey Clarke Moths
Chris Ingram Birds
Caroline Shiel Bats
Tina Aughney Bats
Julia Nunn Marine (Inter-tidal)
Graham Day Flora
Caitríona Carlin Mammals
Martin Gammell Freshwater
Silvia La Gala General
Stephen Bolger General
Charles McSweeney General
John Conaghan Plants
Bryan Pinchen Invertebrates
Maria Long Plants & molluscs
John Faulkner Plants


The National Biodiversity Data Centre is an Initiative of the Heritage Council and is operated under a service level agreement by Compass Informatics. The data centre is funded by the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and the Heritage Council.
© 2024 BioBlitz | Web Design Vitamin Studio